As announced by the Nobel Prize committee, Prof. Dr. Stefan Hell has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry together with two US scientists, Eric Betzig and William Moerner. Mr. Hell is the Director of the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen.

According to the academy, the three scientists have "brought optical microscopy into the nanodimenstion". The Nobel Prize Committee stated: "For a long time optical microscopy was held back by a presumed limitation: that it would never obtain a better resolution than half the wavelength of light".

Helped by fluorescent molecules the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry 2014 ingeniously circumvented this limitation.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Hell is the 2006 Deutscher Zukunftspreis award winner.

Cookies facilitate the provision of our content. By using our website you agree that we use cookies. Learn more
Ok to continue