Announcing the nominees for this years award

Team l, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Heckl, Deutsches Museum, Team ll, Team lll, Petra M. Jung, Bundespräsidialamt, Prof. Ulrich Brunke, DZP Jury, Min.Dir. Dr. Oliver Schmolke, Bundespräsidialamt

The courage to think outside the box and implement new ideas - this is the motto behind the Deutscher Zukunftspreis, the German President's Award for Innovation in Science and Technology. With the award German President Frank-Walter Steinmeier honors researchers who have successfully sought solutions and turned them into new, marketable products that create jobs. The Deutscher Zukunftspreis is endowed with € 250,000 in prize money.

The Deutscher Zukunftspreis jury has shortlisted three outstanding German research and development projects for the 2018 award. The teams were presented to the public today at a press conference at the Deutsches Museum in Munich.


The nominees for the 2018 Deutscher Zukunftspreis are:

Team I

Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Bayer (spokesperson)

Dr.-Ing. E. h. Manfred Wittenstein
Wittenstein SE, Igersheim

with the project "A radical new gearbox type - quantum leaps in productive manufacturing"

Team II

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Helga Rübsamen-Schaeff (spokesperson)
Dr. rer. nat. Holger Zimmermann
AiCuris Anti-infective Cures GmbH, Wuppertal

with their development "Protecting compromised immune systems - the life-saving innovation that fights dangerous viruses"

Team III

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Wasserscheid (spokesperson)
Prof. i. R. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Arlt
Dr.-Ing. Daniel Teichmann

Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

 Forschungszentrum Jülich
Hydrogenious Technologies GmbH, Erlangen

with their work on "Liquid hydrogen storage - paving the way for a future hydrogen society"

In addition to the nominated teams, speakers included Prof. Dr. Wolfgang M. Heckl, member of the jury and Director General of the Deutsches Museum, Ministerial Director Dr. Oliver Schmolke, head of the Home Affairs Directorate-General at the Office of the Federal President, and Prof. Dr. Ulrich Brunhke, Member of the Deutscher Zukunftspreis jury.

The jury's decision on this year's prize-winners will be made on November 28, 2018. German President Frank-Walter Steinmeier will award the 2018 Deutscher Zukunftspreis to the winning team in a festive award ceremony to take place the same day in Berlin.

Cookies facilitate the provision of our content. By using our website you agree that we use cookies. Learn more
Ok to continue